Log In
Friday 20th April 2018

Bug trust resignations

14th November 2007

Three non-executive directors from the board of an NHS trust which saw 90 people die in a superbug outbreak have resigned.

Bruce Sheppey, Gina Jennings and Simon Ingman, who joined the board of Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust last year, have resigned with immediate effect. A further two members, Aaron Cockell and Jonathan Paine, will leave at the end of the month.

The resignations follow calls by Mid Kent and Faversham Tory MP Robertson for the board to be disbanded following a Healthcare Commission report into two outbreaks of the clostridium difficile superbug at the trust’s three hospitals.

The Kent MP was speaking at a rally called in the wake of the findings into an “awful chapter? at the hospitals where the patients died between 2004 and 2006.

More than 500 people attended the meeting to discuss cleanliness and proposed changes to hospital services after the Healthcare Commission report highlighted a litany of errors in infection control.

Speaking at the meeting, Mr Robertson said: “I think the original board should go completely. If anything positive is to come out of this awful chapter it must be a real commitment, firstly, to stamp out C.diff, but secondly to put patients right back at the heart of the NHS.?

It has also emerged that two healthcare assistants had been sacked from Maidstone Hospital and a staff nurse and another healthcare assistant at the Kent and Sussex Hospital in Tunbridge Wells had also been disciplined over care standards.

Trust chief executive Glenn Douglas said work to restore confidence was under way.


Share this page


There are no comments for this article, be the first to comment!

Post your comment

Only registered users can comment. Fill in your e-mail address for quick registration.

Your email address:

Your comment will be checked by a Healthcare Today moderator before it is published on the site.

Mayden - Innovative cloud-based web development for the healthcare sector
© Mayden Foundation 2018