Log In
Sunday 16th June 2019

MHRA announce new chair and non executive directors

5th September 2012

The new Chairman of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) is Professor Sir Gordon Duff who takes up his position with effect from January 1.

He replaces the current Chairman, Sir Alasdair Breckenridge, who will reach the end of his term of office on December 31.

Sir Alan Langlands and Ms Deborah Oakley and Mr Martin Hindle have been appointed as new non-executive directors and too up their appointments on September 1. Professor Vincent Lawton and Professor Barrington Furr were re-appointed as non-executive directors for a further three years.

Outgoing chair Sir Alasdair said: “The health landscape in which we operate is changing, and will continue to change, but our role in safeguarding public health remains critical.

“From April 2013, the Agency will take on substantial additional responsibilities, including the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC). Looking ahead our aim is to take the maximum advantage of the possibilities created through the location of medical and medical device regulation, science and support for research within a single organisation. The ‘new MHRA’ will be larger, broader in scope and with an even wider range of activities.

“Our focus will continue to be on excellence and innovation. Our continued aim is to ensure medicines and medical devices are fit for purpose, with an appropriate balance between risks and benefits.

“I’m delighted that Sir Gordon and the non-executive directors have joined the MHRA as they bring a wealth of experience to our Board and will play a key role in the leadership of our changing organisation.”


Share this page


There are no comments for this article, be the first to comment!

Post your comment

Only registered users can comment. Fill in your e-mail address for quick registration.

Your email address:

Your comment will be checked by a Healthcare Today moderator before it is published on the site.

Mayden - Innovative cloud-based applications for healthcare
© Mayden Foundation 2019