Log In
Wednesday 19th June 2019

NHS Leaders Recognised for their Contribution

10th December 2010

The NHS celebrated nine examples of excellent leadership at the second NHS Leadership Awards ceremony last night, held at St Bartholomew's Hospital, Barts and The London NHS Trust.

The awards, presented to winners in nine categories, encourage, recognise and reward those who consistently make an outstanding contribution in a leadership capacity at every level of the service from clinical leads to doctors and managers.

Over 1000 nominations were received from all levels and disciplines of the NHS, a twofold increase since last year. The awards and their winners in the nine leadership categories are:

  • NHS Board of the Year: The Board of Alford Royal NHS FT
  • NHS Community Leader of the Year: Melanie Walker, NHS Newham
  • NHS Innovator of the Year: Gary Smith, Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust
  • NHS Award for Inspiration: Jan Fowler, Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre NHS Trust
  • NHS Leader of the Year: Mike Burrows, NHS Salford
  • NHS Mentor of the Year: Professor Elisabeth Paice, London Deanery, NHS London
  • NHS Newcomer of the Year: Will Warburton, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • NHS Partnership Award of the Year: The Learning Hub Partnership, University Hospital Birmingham
  • NHS Quality Champion of the Year: David Fillingham, Royal Bolton Hospital NHS FT/Advancing Quality Alliance

The awards will allow outstanding leaders to share their thinking and skills and inspire good practice locally and nationally by showcasing what they have achieved. This will be particularly important as the NHS enters a transition period.

Commenting on the awards Sir David Nicholson, NHS Chief Executive, said:

"Leadership has always been crucial to the success of the NHS, but now, great leadership is critical to the way we manage the transition to the new system.

“The challenge of achieving continuous quality improvement and productivity savings at a time when we are designing an NHS for the future means we are asking for more than ever from our leaders, including new styles of leadership that look outwards beyond organisational boundaries.

“I have been amazed by the number and quality of entries this year and would like to especially congratulate the winners. I hope that the service will take the opportunity to learn from these achievements.”


Share this page


There are no comments for this article, be the first to comment!

Post your comment

Only registered users can comment. Fill in your e-mail address for quick registration.

Your email address:

Your comment will be checked by a Healthcare Today moderator before it is published on the site.

Article Information

Title: NHS Leaders Recognised for their Contribution
Author: Martine Hamilton
Article Id: 16995
Date Added: 10th Dec 2010


Add to scrapbook
Show Comments
Add comment
Find all related articles


Mayden - Innovative cloud-based web development for the healthcare sector
© Mayden Foundation 2019