Log In
Wednesday 23rd May 2018

Taskforce announced

20th July 2006

04032006_DoctorAtPC2.jpgIt has been announced that Harry Cayton, chair of the Care Records Development Board and Patients’ ‘tsar’, will lead the taskforce set up to help get the NHS Summary Care Record underway and resolve outstanding issues over its introduction. The intention to set up the taskforce was originally announced to pre-empt criticism from the National Audit Office (NAO) report on the National Programme for IT (NPfIT).

Membership of the taskforce will also include leaders from the main clinical professions and representatives from the health service and patient groups. Lord Warner said that the wide representation meant that its members are well placed to resolve outstanding issues.

It is intended that an NHS Summary Care Record will be held on the Spine for everyone in England, ensuring that important patient information is always accessible. Such data will include name, address, NHS number and date of birth, and clinical information, for example adverse reactions to drugs, allergies, and details of any visits to A&E. Detailed records will be held locally where most care is delivered with links to local information available from the summary record.

There has been concern about the confidentiality of records held in such a large database, and debate about the adequacy of proposed procedures for ensuring that patients have suitable opportunities to opt out of having some or all of their data stored on the summary record.

In conjunction with NHS Connecting for Health, the task force will draw up an agreed plan for the implementation of the nationally available summary record and report to ministers at the end of November.

It has been announced that the taskforce membership will be: Harry Cayton (chair),national director for patients and the public; Ursula Gallagher, executive director of quality, clinical governance and clinical practice, Ealing PCT; James Johnson, chair, British Medical Association (BMA); Mayur Lakhani, chair, Royal College of GPs; Beverly Malone, general secretary, Royal College of Nursing; Hamish Meldrum, chair, BMA General Practitioners’ Committee; Professor Mike Parker, director, the Oxford Centre for Ethics and Communication in Health Care Practice (Ethox); Nick Partridge, chief executive, Terrence Higgins Trust; Sigurd Reinton, chair, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust; Maria Shortis, patient advocate; Jan Sobieraj, chief executive, Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust; Jim Wardrope, president, College of Emergency Medicine.

Share this page


There are no comments for this article, be the first to comment!

Post your comment

Only registered users can comment. Fill in your e-mail address for quick registration.

Your email address:

Your comment will be checked by a Healthcare Today moderator before it is published on the site.

Mayden - Innovative cloud-based applications for healthcare
© Mayden Foundation 2018