Log In
Thursday 24th May 2018

Update on SHA and PCT Reconfiguration

1st February 2007

A major reconfiguration of Strategic Health Authorities and Primary Care Trusts in England took place in the second half of 2006, cutting the total number of organisations dramatically. Here we provide a quick update on how things have settled into place and where the new boundaries lie.

On 1 July 2006 the 28 existing SHAs made way for 10 new and much larger SHAs.
See New Map at this link

Table 1 Old and New Strategic Health Authorities

(Chief Executive)
Population size Olds SHAs covered by new SHA
North East
(David Flory)
2.55m Northumberland, Tyne and Wear
County Durham and Tees Valley
North West
(Mike Farrar, CBE)
6.83m Cumbria and Lancashire
Cheshire and Merseyside
Greater Manchester
Yorkshire and The Humber
(Margaret Edwards)
5.04m North and East Yorkshire and Northern Lincolnshire
West Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
East Midlands
(Dr Barbara Hakin, OBE)
4.28m Trent
Leicestershire, Northamptonshire and Rutland
West Midlands
(Cynthia Bower)
5.33m Birmingham and the Black Country
Shropshire and Staffordshire
West Midlands South
East of England
(Neil McKay)
5.49m Norfolk, Suffolk and Cambridgeshire
Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire
(Ruth Carnall, CBE)
7.43m North Central London
North East London
North West London
South East London
South West London
South East Coast
(Candy Morris)
4.19m Surrey and Sussex
Kent and Medway
South Central
(Mark Britnell)
3.92m Thames Valley
Hampshire and the Isle of Wight
South West
(Sir Ian Carruthers, OBE)
5.04m Avon, Gloucestershire and Wiltshire
Dorset and Somerset
South West Peninsula

Each SHA is co-terminous with the Government Office of the Regions to help joint working between health and local government, except for South East and South Central which have been divided into two.

Three months after the SHA changes, PCTs were reconfigured with 152 being established on 1 October 2006 from the previous 303. The majority of PCTs have co-terminous boundaries with local authorities.

Table 2 New PCTs by SHA

New SHA New PCTs within SHA (inc links to boundary maps)
North East County Durham, Darlington, Gateshead, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Newcastle, Northumberland Care Trust, North Tyneside, Redcar and Cleveland, South Tyneside, North Tees, Sunderland Teaching (12).
North West Ashton Leigh and Wigan, Blackburn With Darwen Teaching, Blackpool, Bolton, Bury, Central Lancashire, Cumbria, Central and Eastern Cheshire, East Lancashire, Halton and St. Helens, Knowsley, Liverpool, Manchester, North Lancashire, Oldham, Heywood Middleton and Rochdale, Salford Teaching, Sefton, Stockport, Tameside and Glossop, Trafford, Warrington, Western Cheshire, Wirral (24).
Yorkshire and The Humber Barnsley, Bradford and Airedale, Calderdale, Doncaster, East Riding of Yorkshire, Hull, Kirklees, Leeds, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, North Yorkshire and York, Rotherham, Sheffield, Wakefield District (14).
East Midlands Bassetlaw, Derby City, Derbyshire County, Leicester City, Leicestershire County and Rutland, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottingham City, Nottinghamshire County (9).
www.eastmidlands.nhs.uk/the-local-nhs- (see pdf at bottom of page)
West Midlands Birmingham East and North, Coventry Teaching, Dudley, Heart of Birmingham Teaching, Herefordshire, North Staffordshire, Sandwell, Shropshire County, South Birmingham, South Staffordshire, Stoke on Trent, Telford and Wrekin, Walsall Teaching, Warwickshire, Wolverhampton City, Worcestershire (16).
East of England Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, East and North Hertfordshire, Great Yarmouth and Waveney, Luton Teaching, Mid Essex, North East Essex, Norfolk, Peterborough, South East Essex, South West Essex, Suffolk, West Essex, West Hertfordshire (14).
London Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley Care Trust, Brent Teaching, Bromley, Camden, City and Hackney Teaching, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Greenwich Teaching, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey Teaching, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston, Lambeth, Lewisham, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond and Twickenham, Southwark, Sutton and Merton, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth Teaching, Waltham Forest, Westminster (31).
South East Coast Brighton and Hove City, East Sussex Downs and Weald, Eastern and Coastal Kent, Hastings and Rother, Medway Teaching, Surrey, West Kent, West Sussex (8).
South Central Berkshire East, Berkshire West, Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, Isle of Wight NHS, Milton Keynes, Oxfordshire, Portsmouth City Teaching, Southampton City (9).
South West Bristol, Bath and North East Somerset, Bournemouth and Poole, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, North Somerset, Plymouth Teaching, Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, Torbay Care Trust, Wiltshire (14).

Please also see the article  on hc2d 'New PCTs, so what's the difference?




Share this page


There are no comments for this article, be the first to comment!

Post your comment

Only registered users can comment. Fill in your e-mail address for quick registration.

Your email address:

Your comment will be checked by a Healthcare Today moderator before it is published on the site.

Article Information

Title: Update on SHA and PCT Reconfiguration
Author: Sue Knights
Article Id: 1917
Date Added: 1st Feb 2007

Recent Related Articles

Health starts failing at 47 in some parts of England and Wales


Add to scrapbook
Show Comments
Add comment
Find all related articles


M3 - For secure managed hosting over N3 or internet
© Mayden Foundation 2018